Hit the brakes

We often think more than we do. Have you ever said you were going to do something only to find yourself forgetting what it was you were supposed to do, about 20 minutes later? For me, personally, this happens a lot. I love to make lists and every day, I have a To-Do list, of all the things I’m gonna do today. But so often, I only tick two or three things off my list instead of the majority of things.

Now you might be thinking, this is OK. It is normal to be busy and impossible to cram everything that we’ve got to do in one day. But the thing is, the things I don’t do today, I don’t do tomorrow either, or the next day. I only do them when they become urgent, or at the very last moment.

As human beings, we are so caught up in work and our problems that we fail to stop, think and just enjoy the moment that we have right now. We keep trying to multi task when we can’t and we keep trying to do everything in one day, or even in one hour, that we drink more coffee than do work (you know it’s true).

Why does this happen to virtually every adult on the planet? I blame television. The evolution of television, has gone from the aerial on the roof, to digital. And with digital TV and internet TV such as Netflix, lightbox and TV on demand (NZ), we don’t need to wait for a show to come on the TV at a certain time, and we don’t even need to sit through the ads. TV watching has never become so easily assessable and convenient. But where does this lead us?

The consequences of the evolution of TV watching, is that we as humans, spends hours at a time sitting in front of the TV, watching show after show and eating packets of chips after packets of chips. In essence, our brain “rots” inside because we are not exercising our mind. Instead, we are stuck indoors and on our bums, which is harmful to us in many ways.

Another reason why we often do not do things that we want to do straight away, is because we are busy. Have you ever ran through a red light while driving? Ever you ever jay-walked? Or, to put in different words, have you ever got so impatient with waiting, so angry and upset with queuing up that you get impatient and impulsive, reason being that the clock is ticking? This is probably the last thing you want to do in this situation, but it is important to SLOW DOWN.

One day, I was crossing the road and I waited at the zig zag cross line. I heard the engines of a car and I knew it was speeding and wasn’t going to stop. So even though the traffic light turned orange, and cars were slowing down, and I knew the pedestrian green man light was gonna turn on, I didn’t walk. And it’s a good thing I chose not to walk otherwise I would’ve been road kill. That idiot driver sped through a red light while the green man was on. How dangerous is that! Imagine if I was a kid or an old woman, or just someone who didn’t know any better.

Why do we rush things? Maybe it is because we think that to not rush things would be to attempt perfection and everyone puts down perfectionism. Why not just be “good enough”? But good enough doesn’t mean rushing into things, it means doing your best work and effort. So the next time you’re getting angry because you’ve been waiting for too long, or the next time you feel rushed at work to get something done, SLOW DOWN. Hit the brakes. Take a breather, take a walk. Then continue with what you need to do. You’ll feel better for it.

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

Leave a Reply

