Palm

Life Line

I sat down in my allocated window seat. It was going to be a long flight. It was ten hours from New Zealand to Singapore. Ten hours! And it was a five hour time difference as well. I popped the pillow over my neck, leaned my chair back just a tad and turned on my E-reader. I never traveled without my kindle no matter where I was going.

A woman with a strong odor sat down next to me. I flicked my eyes up at her for a second, and returned to my E-book. I wrinkled my nose and sniffed. She was smellier than my sister coming home from work in her subway uniform. And it was not a nice smell.

Ding dong.

“Doors are now closing. Ready for take off in 20 minutes,” said the overhead lady in the speaker.

I thought; “thank goodness! the faster the flight, the better,”

But with smelly hippo next to me, I was going to need to save my breathe till i’m in the toilet or a different part of the plane.

Then the smelly hippo turned to me and my nose wrnikeld in disgust as identified by the smell of her breathe.t hat she was a nictotine addict who drank coffee and dunked her cigarette in her morning cofee as wel.

“Let me read your palm,” she said

“no thanks,” i said, refusing at first,  but she insisted and iw anted her to stop talking. So finally, i nodded. i thought, what’s the harm? i’m not going to believe a word she says anyway.

“Hmm,” she said “You are stressed out,”

Well, she got that right. But there was more. She said;

“You are burdened with your work load as well as other people’s problems and work loads. You are carrying too much for a man to bear. A massage will do no good. I’ll only be good for the knots that you have at your shoulders and back. But the stressed won’t go away. What you need, is a palm,”

“What?” I asked, pretending to be confused.

At this point, the smelly hippo looked into the camera and smiled.

“That’s right. You heard me. You need palms. At palms resorts in Hawaii, we have all  your relaxing needs taken care of for you. Forget about work.”

“Or finance,” I said

“Or your dog, cat, fish or squirrel,”

“And just come to Hawaii at Palm resort and spa,”

“And let all your worries got to the sea as you relax in a hammock,” we both said

We smiled for ten seconds into the camera.

“And cut!”

Finally! I let my smile drop and got out of my seat, and away from my co worker who really did smell. I nicknamed her myself; smelly hippo.

The makeup artists touched up my face.

“the sooner I get out of this show biz,” I said “The better!”

“Don’t need a palm reader for that,” the smelly hippo called out from across the room.

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

Leave a Reply

