Resolved

Resolved

Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?

I’ve recently read a blog post for this exact prompt. Maybe I will re blog it but one thing, that I’ll tell you now, that really stuck with me was not having a “proper” new years resolution like losing weight, but one that is actually fun and something I actually would do, such as, “I resolve to finish 200 books by the end of the year”.

I myself, am not really keen on New year’s resolution. I like the feeling of having a new leaf, a second chance, every year, and on the first day of term school), but I also know that sometimes, you’ve just got to continue to live with the decisions that you’ve made instead of trying to “start again”.

There could be a lot of reasons as to why and how I learnt this; it could be trying to forget about my past mistakes, pretending I’m perfect, but most likely, it was because of writing my first novel. it took me 6-7 years writing the first novel, because I kept scraping the drafts, and I kept trying to make it perfect. I learnt the hard way, but at least I learnt it early on in my life.

It’s like that guy in Divergent, who opted to inject himself so that that his memory will be wiped out. He would be a totally different and new person. Or maybe he’d be the same person as before and make the same if not, similar mistakes. Stop being so hard on yourself. there is no time machine.  

And honestly, it’s just an illusion- you have to live with yourself and your choices no matter what. You can however, forgive yourself and not dwell in the past, but live in the present and for the future. 

As for a new years resolution, no I haven’t actually succeeded in doing one, but I do have one for this year:

  1. I resolve to being myself, but better.

 

 

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

2 thoughts on “Resolved”

Leave a Reply

