A short story-the cost of my diary

Hello!

I haven’t written a post in three days. Sorry about that. I’ll try and write more regularly. I don’t know if any of you know this about me, but I love quotes. Last year, I was in a Paperplus store and I was searching for something good.  I had a 20 dollar gift card voucher and I wanted to use it as soon as possible.

I came across a table that displayed various diaries. I thought; “It’s too early to buy a 2016 diary. It’ll be  cheaper if I buy one next year in Jan,”

But then I opened the diary in my hand to a random page, I think it was somewhere in March, and I came across a quote:

quote-hindsight-is-a-wonderful-thing-david-beckham-2-19-51

 

In fact, every day except Saturdays and Sundays had a quote. And they were very good quotes and like I said, I love quotes. Out of impulsiveness and a fever for quotes, I bought the book. A week or so later, I went to the city with my Aunty who had given me the gift card for my 19th birthday. I believe the conversation went like this:

Aunty: Have you used the gift card yet?

Me: Yes

Aunty: OH! Already? What did you spend it on?

Me (hesitantly): a diary for next year

Aunty gasps.

Aunty: Seriously? What for? How much did it cost?”

Me: 20 dollars.

Aunty: You know in Jan 2016, the diaries would cost 10 dollars. That’s only next month!”

me: I know (trying not to roll my eyes or sigh regrettably)

Aunty proceeds to give me an ear ache about spending money wisely.

Me (when I couldn’t take it no more): OK. I’m sorry.

 

My Aunty can be a bit blunt and hurtful sometimes, but I know she means well. She’s also an accountant, so that’s probably why she was so upset at me for buying a diary essentially with her money, for the full price (not at a discount). I know it was not exactly a money wise decision that I had made, but I also don’t regret it because if I had bought the diary in Jan or waited till the end of Dec 2015, I would’ve either not bought it at all, or I wouldn’t have been able to write in my diary from 1st Jan 2016, and every day since, one page a day.

After a minute or so of silence, my Aunty calmed herself down and then asked me about what I was going to do this year. She as well as a lot of my relatives are nervous about me taking a gap year because they think I’m wasting my time and doing nothing, and I told her I was going to Singapore in May. Big mistake. And so continues the conversation from before, but much worse since it involves more money. Can I scream now?

The End

 

Note: I’m not going to lie, my Aunty can be a pain, but she’s also very nice and on the same day, she treated me to lunch in the city, in a Restaraunt that was in The Rendevous hotel.

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

2 thoughts on “A short story-the cost of my diary”

  1. I would have bought the diary too, I love quotes! Here’s the thing about gifts (and gift cards). Once that money (in the form of the gift card) has left your Aunt’s hand it is no longer hers, and she has no say in how you spend it. You could have taken it and bought $20 worth of M&Ms with it if you wanted to, and she has no right to berate you for it. Because a gift is a gift. It’s yours to do with as you please. If she doesn’t like how you spend your money, then she has the choice to no longer give you money as a gift, but she honestly shouldn’t be giving you grief about what you do with your gift. That’s just rude.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment. Those exact thoughts were running through my head while she was talking. But it’s just something I have to shrug off, and go on with my day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

