Quote me, not

Quote Me

Do you have a favourite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

When I first read this prompt, I thought “I don’t have a quote!” but then I thought again and remembered what my mum always says to me and my other siblings. She usually tells us this when we feel annoyed, particularly with each other, and when we’re complaining or grumbling about something.

She says; “Guard your heart,”

Guard your heart. I know, this is my mum’s quote not my own, but I’ve been reading the bible recently, and I’m starting to understand what it really means. You see, all these years, my mum has been saying to guard my heart, but she never explained what it meant, and I was too frustrated that that was all she was going to tell me when my sister just stole my I-pod, to ask.

“Guard your heart” is a reference made to the bible. It’s IN the bible and I actually came across it recently while reading the bible. It occurred to me that it was quite important. Usually, when my mum says it, I ignore her, and grumble to myself and go to my room. But last Sunday, the pastor said it, and it spoke to me, to my heart and soul. What was God trying to say to me?

He was simply saying, Guard your heart.

It means don’t let hatred, jealousy and fear inside your heart. Guard your heart, protect it, because that is where Jesus lives, so take care of it regularly.

Like I said, this is what my mum always says. But even though I still don’t like it when my mum says it to me as a reply to “But mum, she did it first. Why am I the only one being punished?” It’s begun to stuck, and it’s just one of those things that I will remember whenever something happens and anger begins to rise inside me and I feel like I’m going to do something that I really shouldn’t.

I know my mum won’t want me to quote her, so let’s just pretend I got it from the bible first. Guard your heart.

What does this mean to you? Do you agree or disagree with me? Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

3 thoughts on “Quote me, not”

  1. An excellent favorite quote; a very valuable reminder. It’s a verse that we all need to quote to ourselves when those many opportunities arise where our hearts, minds and emotions can be negatively affected. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

