This would never happen in NZ

Sudden Shifts

You’re at the beach with some friends and/or family, enjoying the sun, nibbling on some watermelon. All of a sudden, within seconds, the weather shifts and hail starts descending from the sky. Write a post about what happens next.

(If you need visual inspiration, this happened in Russia in 2014.)

I read this prompt, and I thought, “This would never happen in NZ, where I come from.”

The weather is always sunny, even in winter. It’s a good day to wear your jandals, eat $1 ice cream from Mc Donalds, and go to the beach even if it’s raining. Rain is no excuse to not go outside, it’s just water.

hqdefault

I remembered last year when I was at home, sick with the cold (so I didn’t go to school) and it was snowing in Auckland.

I’ve never seen snow before so at first I thought it was hail. It looked like little ice (hail) but as it fell when it landed on the deck, it turned into water. Hence, it was snow! My heart raced, I was so excited and eager to go out there and build a snowman. But my mum said that I would 1. get wet 2. Get hit by ice 3. the snowman would melt as soon as you started building it.

And it wasn’t even snowing anyway. Apparently, it was sleet, which is closer to snow than hail.

 

melted2bsnowman2bcookie
Pathetic, although this one looks yummy to eat

 

I know that hail hurts though and can do some serious damage. So next time I go to Russia, I won’t be at the beach.

 

 

 

 

 

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

Leave a Reply

