International women’s day

It is the 8th of March and that means today is the International women’s day. Thanks again to Google for telling me.

But truth be told, I knew what day it was before I went on my laptop because a guy on the street yelled out “Happy international women’s day!” to a bunch of women passing by him (myself included).

I feel like I shouldn’t say “theme”, so instead I’ll say “campaign”. The campaign for this year is “Pledge for Parity”.

I feel like an idiot for having to look up what “Parity” means, given what today is, but Parity is- The state or condition of being equal.

And don’t we all want that? No just women or feminists, but men too, and gays, lesbians, people with mental illness, and just generally people who are treated differently for whatever reasons. We all want to be equal with one another.

The thing is, and here’s the crazy thing, we are equal. We may not feel like we are equal, we may not be treated or treat others equally but we are. These lines between black and white, between refugees and a citizen, between the rich and poor, they are invisible, and only their because of society, because of our mindsets, and how we think about ourselves in relation to one another. We draw that line.

So today, let’s not just celebrate women, but let’s celebrate Parity, Equality.

It is a right, not a privilege. Don’t let anyone take that away from you.

happy-womens-day-images

 

 

 

 

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

Leave a Reply

