The secret to getting things checked off the To-do list

There are many things I’d like to do while I have the time to do them. I’d like to learn hip hop dance, learn to sing and improve my chances as a Youtube singer. I’d like to continue learning Spanish, write one novel per month, learn to swim and do it regularly.

But, after writing down a To-do list or a goal list, comes the BUT.

BUT, I have to wash the dishes, BUT i have to vacuum, BUT I have to clean my room.

So how do you have times of the things you want to do and the things you have to do?

“The secret to getting things checked off the To-Do list is to focus on one thing at a time and do things on a regular basis.”

At the end of the day, these are just my secrets that work for me, helpful hints that may or may not work for you. Here they are:

  1. Prioritise your goals

What do you have to do right now? Do you have to do a “Need” or a “want”? For example, do you have to pick up the kids from school, or do you have time now to work on that drawing?

2. Make your “needs” motivation to do your “wants”

Writing is hard. Drawing is hard. really anything that we love and have a burning passion for, is hard. that’s why we love it so much. Sometimes, it’s really hard (See the picture above, with the rock and the “Writing is hard” slogan).

Maybe you can say to yourself; “If you write the next chapter of the story, you can do your laundry,”

Or the opposite might work- do your morning chores first, and then write your story as your break or reward. Do the same for the afternoon and nighttime. (Yes, i do three writing sessions in a day. Like I said, I have the time this year).

3. Focus on one thing at a time

I actually learnt this secret/advice from The Goofy movie (don’t laugh). Stop worrying about everything and just get through whatever needs doing eight now. For example, I have to cook tonight (yay), but right ow, I’m at the library, and I’m getting through this blog post instead of worrying about making it home in time to cook dinner early.

4. The final advice/secret I can bestow upon you is: Do things regularly

Experts (and my old high school teachers) say if you want to do something well, you have to do it for at least ten hours in total (not ten straight hours, mind you). This is a similar advice: Do what you want to do every day.

Just like how if you wash the dishes every day, you won’t have to spend the whole day on a Saturday, to clean up everything. Write every day, or draw or sing or dance or swim EVERY SINGLE DAY.

But the question is still there: HOW do you do all these things every single day and tick off everything on the To-Do list. This leads to the next and last secret I will tell you:

5. Take some things off the To-Do list

Do you really like to draw? Do you really have to do the laundry today, right now?

Part of prioritising is to take some things off the list of things you do every day. Figure out what’s important to you and stick with it. You might still find that you still don’t get to tick off everything off your To-Do list, but I hope you’ll find a tick here and there and things crossed off as you go about your day.

Prompt

What are things that you’ve always been meaning to do but just haven’t gotten around to do it?

What are some things you wished you could do more?

Let me know in the comments below. Take care.

 

 

 

 

Author: ceyeh96

I am a novelist who is taking an amazing gap year. In Jan 2016, I'll be doing volunteering work as well as throughout the year as well. Check me on Wattpad for short stories. My username is ching_e Follow my blog, Writing160 (not RubyAtYourService).

Leave a Reply

